Ah, Shit…

A while ago, what? 10, 11 years ago this inspiring kid killed himself. I remember listening to the first Man Afraid EP (half mast records). The honesty in his voice, the truth in him. I didn’t know… I miss that feeling now. RIP Mark Griffin. We miss you.

Cemetery Ridge

keeping warm by the light of a television, in an empty room, in an
emptier life. making promises to myself. trying to validate myself.
lashing out at the fiction and it hurts when the eyes roll back.
when the means defeat the ends, you cheated.
what did you mean to defend your usa, your dirty hands, the
backsliding, or the choice? now you’re standing next in line like the
cowards who came before you and I can’t ignore it. it’s a question of
wrong or right.

I remember the ride up. it was snowing outside and I could see your
breath, yet we seemed so dead. the nearest light was miles away.
talking about how my dad died and who he’d hurt and how we’d
have to pay. I know why you tagged along, but the means defeat the
ends, you cheated.

what did you mean to defend your usa, your dirty hands, the
backsliding, or the choice? now you’re standing next in line like the
cowards who came before you and I can’t ignore it. it’s a question of
wrong and right.

you said you’d never sell yourself.
were we really young and stupid?
am I really crazy?
how could all those empty victories
amount to so much more?
watching friends go by.
losing another battle deep inside.
some things are better left unsaid.

Leave a Reply

